Item No. 1

DURHAM COUNTY COUNCIL

At an Extraordinary Meeting of the County Council held at the County Hall, Durham on Thursday 10 July 2008 at 10.00 a.m.

Present

Councillor L O'Donnell in the Chair.

Councillors Alderson, Armstrong, A Bainbridge, B Bainbridge, Barnett, A Bell, E Bell, Blakey, Bleasdale, Bowman, Boyes, D Brown, J Brown, Brunskill, Burn, Burnip, Campbell, Chaplow, Cordon, Crooks, Dixon, Docherty, Farry, Fergus, Freeman, Gittins, Gray, Henig, Hodgson, Holroyd, Hopgood, Hovvels, Hugill, Hunter, E Huntington, G Huntington, Iveson, Jopling, Lethbridge, Liddle, Maddison, C Marshall, D Marshall, Martin, Moran, Morgan, Murphy, B Myers, D Myers, Nicholls, Nicholson, B Ord, Robson, Rodgers, Savory, Shield, Shiell, Shuttleworth, Simmons, Sloan, Southwell, Stelling, Stephens, Stoker, Stradling, T Taylor, Temple, Todd, Tomlinson, Andy Turner, Walker, Williams, Willis, Woods, Wright and R Young.

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Arthur, R Bell, Carr, Foster, N Harrison, Johnson, Magee, L Marshall, G Richardson, S Robinson, Tennant, Thomson, Allen Turner, Vasey, Wilson, M Wood, Yorke and B Young.

Honorary Aldermen

Moved by Councillor Henig, Seconded by Councillor Robson and

Resolved unanimously:

1. That in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act, 1972 the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the following persons who have rendered eminent services to the County Council as past Members of the Council:

Former County Councillor	Service on Council	Year(s) Elected
Mr A Barker	15	1993
Mr T Carroll	21	1987
Mr J Davies	11	1997
Mr S Douthwaite	11	1997

Mr B Ebbatson	11	1997
Mr C Foote-Wood	12	1973, 1985
Mr E Foster	11	1997
Mr P Graham	15	1993
Mrs E Hunter	11	1997
Mr J Knox	27	1981
Mr K Manton	19	1989
Mr B Pendlebury	31	1977
Mr G Porter	19	1989
Mr J Priestley	11	1989, 2001
Mr P Trippett	15	1993
Mr N Wade	11	1997
Mr B Walker	27	1981

2. That the Seal of the County Council be affixed to documents recording the appointments.